Cork’s English Market was created in 1788 by the Protestant or “English” corporation that controlled the city at that time. It was a new flagship municipal market located at the heart of the new commercial city centre.
When local government was reformed in 1840, and the representatives of the city’s Catholic, “Irish” majority took over, they established another covered food market, St. Peter’s Market (now the Bodega Bar on Cornmarket Street), which became known as the “Irish Market” to distinguish it from its older counterpart which remained associated with its English creators. It is thus that the name “English Market” dates from this era of transition.
This website http://www.englishmarket.ie/ includes individual trader pages, a history section, recipes section, and gallery section, and provides a good information resource to anyone interested in the English Market.
The website has also been designed jointly by Cork City Council and the English Market Traders and has their full support.
Queen Elizabeth II’s Visit to the English Market, Cork, 20 May 2011, photos can be seen by clicking on the link:
Also check out RTE’s Podcast, July 2011 on the English Market (link below):
A fabulously witty and charming journey into Cork City’s labyrinth that is the English Market – A story that weaves it way through two centuries – overcoming fires, famine, rebellion and war.